Camillo Villegas was disqualified from the Hyundai Tournament of Champions because of violating rule 23-1 which states, “When a ball is in motion, a loose impediment that might influence the movement of the ball must not be removed”. The penalty for this is two-strokes unless you have already signed your scorecard, which Villegas did, then it’s a disqualification for signing an incorrect scorecard.
The violation was not noticed by Villegas, his caddie, a rules official or even a fan standing near Villegas watching. The rule was pointed out by a fan at home watching the tournament, whilst trying to make money on the best golf betting websites!
The fan decided to “Tweet” about it to a few select people including the PGA TOUR who eventually reviewed the tape and ultimately decided it was a penalty, and disqualified him.